Archdiocese of Melbourne

The Archdiocese of Melbourne is the biggest diocese in Australia with 216 parishes. The diocese consists of all of the Melbourne metropolitan area, plus the Geelong Region and country parishes to the north and west of Melbourne. Our neighbouring parishes of Narre Warren, Berwick and Cranbourne belong to the Diocese of Sale.
The Cathedral of the Archdiocese is St Patrick’s Cathedral in East Melbourne. This is the church of the Archbishop.
The Diocese was established in 1848 with Bishop James Gould as the first Bishop. Archbishop Peter Comensoli is the ninth Archbishop of Melbourne.
Diocesan Website:

Please refer to our Newsletter for the most up to date information

Mass & Reconciliation Times

Upcoming Events


Contact Us